Gravediggaz – Six Feet Deep – Double Vinyl, Picture Disc, eOne, 2018

“Six Feet Deep” is the debut studio album by the American hip hop group Gravediggaz, released on August 9, 1994. Gravediggaz consisted of four members: Prince Paul, RZA, Frukwan, and Poetic (who passed away in 2001). The group was known for its unique blend of horrorcore and hardcore hip hop, incorporating themes of death, violence, and the macabre into their music.

The album received critical acclaim for its innovative production, dark and atmospheric soundscapes, and vividly descriptive lyrics. It was particularly praised for its conceptual cohesion, as the entire album revolves around the theme of death and the afterlife. The members of Gravediggaz adopt different personas, each representing a different aspect of death: The RZArector (RZA) as the Rzarector, Prince Paul as the Undertaker, Frukwan as the Gatekeeper, and Poetic as the Grym Reaper.

Some standout tracks from the album include “Diary of a Madman,” “1-800-Suicide,” “Nowhere to Run, Nowhere to Hide,” and “Bang Your Head.” These tracks showcase the group’s skillful lyricism, intricate wordplay, and darkly imaginative storytelling.

“Six Feet Deep” is considered a seminal work in the horrorcore subgenre of hip hop and has influenced numerous artists in the years since its release. It remains a cult classic and a favorite among fans of underground hip hop.